Earth Science News


Prof. Prasanta Sanyal has been awarded the National Geoscience Awards-2014 from Ministry of Mines


Dr. Supriyo Mitra has been selected as winner of “NASI Scopus Young Scientist Awards 2012 – Earth, Oceanographic & Environmental Science”


Dr. Melinda Bera wins INSA Young Scientist Award in Earth Sciences
For his "significant contribution to study of isotopic and sedimentological attributes of Himalayan foreland sediments."


Professor Dan McKenzie's visit on February 10, 2012
Professor Dan McKenzie, CH, FRS, visited the Department of Earth Sciences IISER Kolkata on 10th February 2012 and delivered an Institute colloquium on "Plate Tectonics and subduction zone earthquakes".


Climate Change Center Inauguration
The Climate Change Centre in the IISER-K main campus was inagurated by Dr. Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, on 18th March 2011.


Seismological Observatory Inauguration
The Seismological Observatory in the IISER-K main campus was inaugurated by Prof Vinod Gaur, Honorary Professor, IIAp and CMMACS Bangalore, on 18th November 2010.