Staff Members



Supriyo Mitra

Email: supriyomitra @

Personal Webpage

Research Group2

Seismology, Continental Tectonics

Prasanta Sanyal

Chairman of the Department

Email: psanyal @

Research Group

Stable isotopes

Associate Professor


Tarun K. Dalai

Email: dalai @

Radiogenic isotopes and trace metal geochemistry

Devapriya Chattopadhyay

Email:devapriya @ Personal Webpage

Research Group

Invertebrate Paleontology
Kathakali Bhattacharyya

Email: kathakali @

Structural Geology

Assistant Professor


Manoj Jaiswal

Email:manoj @

Geomorphology and Quaternary geochronology

Sujata Ray

Email:sujataray @  

Soil mechanics, Environmental engineering

Kajaljyoti Borah

Email: kajal.borah @

Personal Webpage

Computational Seismology

Gopala Krishna Darbha

Email:gkdarbha @  

Environmental Hydrogeochemistry

Sayantan Sarkar

Email:sayantan.sarkar @

Personal Webpage

Aerosol chemical characterization, transport and source apportionment; Organic aerosol fractions; Atmospheric black carbon and other optically active aerosol species; Halocarbons and other VOCs in the troposphere

Assistant Professor (on contract)


Sitindra Sunder Dirhangi

Email: sitindra @

Organic Geochemistry

Tapabrato Sarkar

Email: tapabrato @

Metamorphic and igneous petrology, Precambrian geology and related geochemistry, Geochronology (Zircon and monazite dating), Crustal evolution